Leon Thomas III Takes Center Stage On Debut Album ‘Electric Dusk’ 

electric dusk

Leon Thomas III is a Grammy-winning producer and songwriter who has been behind many of your favorite artists hits such as Drake, SZA, Ariana Grande, and more. However for Thomas, Electric Dusk is his way to put his voice front and center. His debut album Electric Dusk was released on August 18 and features guest appearances from Benny the Butcher, Ty Dolla $ign and Victoria Monét. 

electric dusk

We spoke to Thomas during an August press conference where we asked what he wants his audience to gain from his solo LP released under Motown Records. The R&B artist said that the goal of the album is for “people to understand him a little bit better.”

“I think it’s very easy to make assumptions about what my life might be like or what I think about on the daily or how I feel emotionally,” he explained. “I spell out the range of emotions I go through as a human being throughout this album.” 

Throughout the press conference, Thomas spoke about how this was a vulnerable album for him and it is definitely seen in his lead single “Breaking Point.”

“It’s hard for me to listen/When there’s miles and miles of distance/Feel your heart is drifting but you’re right there/I call you home but I might be alone,” he sings in the opening verse.

On the project he offers the female perspective with the help of Victoria Monét.

“I don’t understand how we’re here/We could be crashing to the ground/And somehow still reach a ceiling/We boilin’ ’til the water drifts away until we’re feelin’/By now we know that we are past the point of healin’,” Monét sings on the remix. 

It was recently announced that he would be joining the “On My Mama” singer for a few dates for her Jaguar II tour in support of her album of the same name. 

Thomas got candid about how he talks about dating and relationships on the LP. Those life experiences as well as are some tactics he feels rising R&B artists should take into consideration when in the songwriting process.

“Tell me what’s going on with your life, ‘who are you dating? whats wrong?’ ’what’s right?,’” he asks.”  

“Let’s figure out what’s actually going on because those are the things that every human being can relate to and you can find nuance ways and maybe have metaphors around that,” the New York native continues. 

“I think I would love for more R&B artists to take the time and [not] rush through these songs and wondering why people aren’t necessarily responding because they simply didn’t take the time to think about it.”

This advice is something that Thomas emerces himself in this upcoming project in songs such as “Love Jones,” “ Crash & Burn,” and “Sneak” to name a few.

“Ironic how you the bad vibes and you sage, huh? (Uh)/Wish I could’ve had you here with me/But you’re a liability, a liability, oh/I tried, but silly me,” Thomas sings on “Crash & Burn.”

“Its just a conversation its just me essentially letting people know how I’m feeling about the current status of dating in LA it’s insane, he says with a laugh. “I think its a nuanced conversation but in the end, the centerpiece is that I want people to understand me better and really get into my mind. It’s an exciting time. We’re getting so close to people finally understanding me.”

Take a look at the full tracklist below:

1. “Slow Down”

2. “X-Rated” Feat. Benny The Butcher

3. “Blue Hundreds”

4. “Love Jones” Feat. Ty Dolla Sign

5. “Sneak”

6. “My Will”

7. “Breaking Point”

8. “Crash & Burn”

9. “Fade To Black”

10. “Socialite”

11. “Treasure In The Hills”12.”Breaking Point (Remix)” Feat. Victoria Monét